Shoe Review – Salomon XT Wings 3

ImageImage

Don’t let the in-your-face color deter you, these shoes are more than a fashion statement.

I run mostly technical traprock trails here in the Northeast so I need a shoe that provides protection and stability. The Salmon XT Wings 3 might be considered a lot of shoe for some (especially you minimalist), but if you are looking for a glove fit, stability, cushion and traction, I’d give them a look.

I came to these from the Salomon XA PRO 3D Ultra. The XT Wings 3 have a narrow chassis and higher profile which provides for better fit and running shoe feel.

I bought the XT Wings 3 for training over the winter, but I like them so much I plan to use them in my Spring races. They are a great winter or bad trail condition shoe. The traction is ridiculous and I often feel like I’m wearing Microspikes on snow covered trails. No slippage, and good bite on icy or dicey terrain. As Salmon says, the shoe is designed and tested in the Alps so why would it not make you feel like Spiderman on the steeps.

Salomon XT Wings 3

Pros – Great stability, medium weight, comfort, excellent traction, pronation control, breathable, great for winter training.

Cons – a lot of shoe for nontechnical trails, medium weight.